Another Place – Part 1

Another Place

Photo Credit: Pixabay

 

I’ve been asked to share the experiences I’ve had as they relate to dying, leaving my body, and coming back to life. This post is the first of several I’ll write to share them. There’s  lot to learn in this area, and I hope to dispel fear concerning death. My hope is that you come away with a greater heart-knowing of God’s extreme goodness, and the depths of His love for we humans, the crown of creation.

It was August 21st, 1983. I was just a few days shy of my 21st birthday. I was young, naïve, wounded, confused, ignorant, lost and broken. How did I get here?

My parents divorce a couple years earlier had devastated me. It was the final straw to break the proverbial camel’s back that had become so weighed down by so many things. I had driven off to San Diego at the age of 19 to get away from it all. I had my shiny new Mazda RX7 and I drove across the country thinking I’d run away from all these problems I couldn’t manage. I’d have a fresh start with a new job and a new location. Did I say I was naïve?

I grew up with religion and went to religious school from Kindergarten through 8th Grade at a Missouri Synod Lutheran school 2 miles from our farm. I had knowledge of God, I was afraid of God and had no idea that I had an enemy that wanted to steal, kill & destroy my life. That enemy had already been working hard in earlier years to take me out. The next few years, he would take it to a new level. Did I say I was ignorant?

San Diego was a disaster on all fronts. In fact, the road trip out there was dangerous. Our group of highway travelers was moving at close to 80 MPH the the Rocky Mountains when a huge chunk of tire came off of a semi in front of me and just about took me out. Part of it landed on the hood of the car, then bounced off of the windshield. Another smaller chunk had gone under the right front tire and caused minor damage.

There were other dangers, too, like ending up in Tijuana alone at 2 am after over-shooting San Diego on the freeway. There was the time spent living in east San Diego where we had at least one shooting per night. The paranoid woman I lived with tried to kill me. My job had to change for a variety of reasons. My car got repossessed. It was a mess. Did I say I was lost?

I got my car back with my dad’s help, and I headed home for Minnesota after 9 perilous months. I got my job back at the nursing home I’d worked at as a CNA (Certified Nursing Assistant.) I got involved in a relationship, and that was a mess, too.

One weekend, we were going up north for a softball tournament with friends. We drove over to another friend’s house where everyone was meeting. It was only 10 am, but everybody was drinking and getting high. When I saw my current boyfriend do a line of cocaine in front of me, I snapped, and walked out. Here we go: more drama, more dysfunction, and more mess. Did I say I was wounded?

Let me introduce Joe. We were friends and worked together at the nursing home. Although he was a little younger, we had some things in common. Mostly, I felt safe with him and he made me laugh. We agreed to go out on a date for a burger, and then to a midnight movie. Dawn of the Dead was playing. I did say I was ignorant, right?

This was one of THE worst decisions I’d ever made. Sitting through this movie was, for me, terrifying. Although I didn’t understand it at the time, demons were circling us in the theatre. Plans for the destruction of both of our lives had been made, and we didn’t have a clue.

After the movie, we came out to pouring rain, so heavy the wipers in the old Ford Fairlane couldn’t keep up. We left Eden Prairie on the way back to Waconia. Just outside Chaska, the enemy attempted to kill. Joe and I were headed west on Highway 212, and Stephen Pike was driving eastbound with his companion. Each vehicle was going about 50 MPH. Stephen was drunk, and did not see our vehicle when he turned left in front of us in his Galaxy 500. I screamed for God, Joe might have been yelling, too. Then everything went black.

I woke in excruciating pain. Joe was calling my name to see if I was okay. I couldn’t answer him. When the vehicles collided, I’d been sitting next to Joe. The car wasn’t equipped with seat belts, so there was nothing to hold me back – except the steering wheel. My body had flown up, and was caught on the steering wheel, collapsing both my lungs. While my body was kept from going through the windshield, it didn’t keep my head from going through. After the impact, after it all stopped, I was lying in a heap on the floor of the passenger side of the car.

I next remember paramedics coming to get me out of the car. I heard myself screaming in pain as they were moving me. Remember that I worked in healthcare. In addition to working as a CNA, I had spent time as a PCA (Personal Care Attendant) for some folks with permanent spinal injuries. Some of them functioned as quadriplegics, some as paraplegics.

As the paramedics were working on me, I began asking them if my neck was broken. My mindset at the time was this: If my neck is broken, I don’t want to live. I was going to make my choice to live based on their response, or so I thought.

They ignored my question at first. I kept asking until they asked me if I could wiggle my toes. Much to my surprise, I could do it. And as soon as I did it, it happened. I was gone.

The next thing I knew, I was standing about 50 feet from the scene of the crash. Everything was in black and white. There were flashing lights, police cars, the rescue squad, the State Patrol directing traffic. I couldn’t hear anything that was going on.

There was this man next to me, on my right, and he (or He) was dressed in white. I don’t know how long I stood there with him watching emergency personnel work on me. I heard him say, “It’s not your time. You have to go back.”

Whew. Even now, it takes my breath away. He showed up to save me.

I woke up 9 days later. Life was hard for a while after that. My face was full of glass. Modeling school was over. I was alone, really alone, and the only One who could help me was God. One day early in the recovery process, I was looking in the mirror, wondering how I would live without the exterior beauty that was mine before. Deep within me, I heard Him tell me it was time to go deeper than the surface for my value.

Part 2 to follow.
With Love from Portland,

Laurie

(Copyright Laurie Hilgers 2014)

About withlovefromportland

Hey there! Welcome to my blog! I’m so glad you stopped by. I’m a 50-something woman living in the West Coast version of Narnia. The flora, fauna and people of Portland invite new adventures every day. I encourage you to plot our coordinates and visit this beautiful piece of the Earth. Creation is amazing here! You’ll also find a St. Arbuck’s or local coffee shop on nearly every corner. It rains here in winter. A lot. We like our coffee. As you read through my pages, I hope you find healing, hope and relationship with the One who radically loves and adores you. Some call Him Heavenly Father, others know Him as Daddy. You’ll find your own term of affection for Him if you don’t already have one. He’s shown me the depths of His love for me, yet I know it goes deeper than what I’ve explored. Every day is an opportunity for us to BE with Him, to love and be loved, to learn and grow, to heal and to help others heal. My intent is to encourage you to draw near to God. My prayer is that your heart is willing to let Him in. Once He’s in your heart, well, that’s when your story really begins. It’s when you begin to learn and experience who He is for you now and Who He wants to be in every circumstance you face in this life. Why does this matter, you ask? It matters because each of us was created in His likeness and image. It matters because He has given you gifts. It matters because He has given you a destiny to fulfill, lives to touch and heal, love to pour out into others. It matters most of all for you. You get to learn how beloved you are. You get to have an off-the-charts, one-of-a-kind amazing relationship with Daddy God, with Jesus and with Holy Spirit. You don’t buy it? You don’t think any of this is real? Okay. I’m good with that. I’m not here to convince you otherwise. I do, however, ask you to do this one thing of you: Ask God to make Himself more real to you than your own right hand in front of your face. That’s all. Then go about your life just like you did before you stopped by my blog. If you think of it, though, could you stop back some time to let me know how you’re doing? I’d like that. Again, I welcome you. Grab a cup of something comforting to drink and join me whenever you like. We need each other. With love from Portland
This entry was posted in God, Hope, Near-Death, Out of Body, Wounded and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Place – Part 1

  1. Praying Medic says:

    Thanks for writing this story. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been the one removing the disfigured body from the crumpled car. It’s a sobering thought to realize that Jesus and the angels have probably been at a lot of those scenes. Seems like time has brought you wisdom. Can’t wait to read more.

    • Thanks, PM. More to come.

      When I wrote this, I had no thought of how this might impact you. Thank you for sharing your perspective with me.

      You have a difficult job, a profession I considered pursuing given my co-dependent condition years ago. My own need for salvation apparently made me want to save others. In the end, I didn’t think I could cope with the mangled bodies, whether I became a paramedic or a cop. Instead, I dated a couple of paramedics, and I settled for becoming a CNA until this particular crash occurred. See you here again soon. Thanks for your support and encouragement. I appreciate you and PMW.

  2. Beautifully and clearly written so the reader could feel as if they were inside you looking out. Quite a story. Quite a life. May the Lord continue to appear to you and take you ever higher into His kingdom. Luv B

Leave a comment