By Patience and Faith…

Photo Credit: Laurie Hilgers

By patience and faith, we inherit the promises of God. That’s what I had to stand on today. Perceiving in the Spirit that, yes, God is doing a new thing, and I will know it.

 

I just wanted to see it – today. The chickens are here with us for a reason.  I likened my wanting to see results from God today was like going into the henhouse and demanding the chickens lay eggs while I stood there and watched them.  Admittedly, I don’t know a lot about chickens.

Since arriving here in St. Johns, this is the most time I have ever spent around the clucking wonders.  Yesterday morning was our day to collect eggs. I happily went from nest to nest until I got to the last one, and found a hen still doing her business. She was clearly not pleased that I stood there observing until she was done.  Perhaps we were both in a mood.

I digress.  The point of this is that God always has and always will have His own timetable for doing things. I’m feeling a squeeze on some things, and want Him to hurry up, and He says, “I’ve always got you, trust Me.” Yes, I know, You did say that, and I really do believe You, but could You…?

I want, no, need a paying job like right now. I applied at Starbucks and Safeway over the weekend. When I was ready to go downtown, my instructions today were to go to Starbucks.

I did that, laptop in tow and my big water bottle, because they will give you water for free.  The shift manager I met last week was working and she remembered me.  I told her that I did indeed apply online. She took down my information again, and said the manager was trying to sort out if they wanted to train in someone new for the holiday season or not.  We chatted, and I went to get caught up on email.  God told me to stay there until 4 pm, which I did.

When 4 pm, came, He told me to go to Safeway, so I walked the 3 blocks over to Safeway. I marched over to the Customer Service counter and waited in line until I had permission to speak, and then I asked to see the store manager.  After a few minutes, he came out and I introduced myself, telling him I had applied for the Produce Manager job online over the weekend.  He invited me back to his office to talk for a few minutes.

I learned that Jim, the store manager, was from Chicago, was a Marine (once a Marine, always a Marine), and that he loves Jesse Ventura, along with professional wrestling.  For those of you that are now confused, I will explain.  Jesse Ventura was the Mayor of Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, where I am from, and he was also Governor of the great State of Minnesota.  Jesse is also a well-known, high-profile, now retired professional wrestler.

He asked about my background, I told him, we talked.  It was good, and he was duly impressed that I sought him out.  Only one problem remains; there are no open positions right now. The Produce Manager job is filled, but the position hadn’t been removed in the jobs database.  Sigh.  He did ask me to bring him a hard copy of my resume, and to check back with him.  I will do that.  He said Safeway promotes quickly if you just show up for work regularly.  I guess the work ethic in this region is different that the Midwest.

That brings me to the next Scripture to lean into:  Trust in the Lord with all your heart & lean not on your own understanding, in all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths.

More stretching, yes, indeed, praise the Lord! Yes, He has me.  He has more of me now than He has ever had.  He is hardening me to difficulty, teaching me to walk by faith in some of the greatest darkness I have ever experienced.  He is here, and He is I AM.  I am my Beloved’s, and my Beloved is Mine.  Glory to the King!

withlovefromportland,

Laurie

(Copyright Laurie Hilgers 2012)

 

About withlovefromportland

Hey there! Welcome to my blog! I’m so glad you stopped by. I’m a 50-something woman living in the West Coast version of Narnia. The flora, fauna and people of Portland invite new adventures every day. I encourage you to plot our coordinates and visit this beautiful piece of the Earth. Creation is amazing here! You’ll also find a St. Arbuck’s or local coffee shop on nearly every corner. It rains here in winter. A lot. We like our coffee. As you read through my pages, I hope you find healing, hope and relationship with the One who radically loves and adores you. Some call Him Heavenly Father, others know Him as Daddy. You’ll find your own term of affection for Him if you don’t already have one. He’s shown me the depths of His love for me, yet I know it goes deeper than what I’ve explored. Every day is an opportunity for us to BE with Him, to love and be loved, to learn and grow, to heal and to help others heal. My intent is to encourage you to draw near to God. My prayer is that your heart is willing to let Him in. Once He’s in your heart, well, that’s when your story really begins. It’s when you begin to learn and experience who He is for you now and Who He wants to be in every circumstance you face in this life. Why does this matter, you ask? It matters because each of us was created in His likeness and image. It matters because He has given you gifts. It matters because He has given you a destiny to fulfill, lives to touch and heal, love to pour out into others. It matters most of all for you. You get to learn how beloved you are. You get to have an off-the-charts, one-of-a-kind amazing relationship with Daddy God, with Jesus and with Holy Spirit. You don’t buy it? You don’t think any of this is real? Okay. I’m good with that. I’m not here to convince you otherwise. I do, however, ask you to do this one thing of you: Ask God to make Himself more real to you than your own right hand in front of your face. That’s all. Then go about your life just like you did before you stopped by my blog. If you think of it, though, could you stop back some time to let me know how you’re doing? I’d like that. Again, I welcome you. Grab a cup of something comforting to drink and join me whenever you like. We need each other. With love from Portland
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment